7 book titles that you’ve probably forgotten about

The Wheel of Time

The 14th installment of a rebooted fantasy trilogy is now playing. Published by the Robert Jordan/David J. Peterson fantasy series of novels, published in 1979-2003 and translated by Martin Botting and Joann Gumbels, the Wheel of Time is a story of epic inter-dimensional travel and magical swordplay set in a mystical world. The book begins with four young wizards traveling to the hopes of a king who abandoned them in a faraway land. From there the story takes them around the world — first to Tangier, then to Beelzebub and, finally, to the perilous “Wheel of Time.” The novel spans 13 books and 10 years, the first four of which are read together; the sixth is yet to be published.

The new adaptation, in which the screenplay is by Thor Freudenthal (Diary of a Wimpy Kid) and Ron Friedman (Diary of a Wimpy Kid) and the rest of the series is being revived by the company Starz, stars Anthony Mackie (The Hurt Locker), Djimon Hounsou (Guardians of the Galaxy), and Helen Slater (Dawn of the Dead). Slater, who famously played the wheelchair-bound Anna in the original Lord of the Rings trilogy, is an actress by trade and recently told HuffPost that she was determined to be up to the task, even though that meant missing out on movies with other actors.

Leave a Comment